top of page

Driver Profile: Karl Armstrong



What is your name and racing number used?

Karl Armstrong. My racing number was originally 711-M after our family friend Wes Raynal. Now 277-M because 277 is my firefighter number when I got hired as a career Firefighter/Medic.


How did you get involved in boat racing?

My uncle, Todd Armstrong, raced and he invited me to watch him at Constantine. I was 18 years old and grew up 8 miles away from Constantine...I had no idea the sport even existed! I was interested after that day and he got me a ride shortly afterwards.


When and where was your first race?

If memory serves correctly, it was A Marathon at Big Rapids in 2007, thanks to the Affholters for providing a rig. My first closed course was Constantine 2008 ASR. I ran out of gas the second heat, I totally forgot to refuel between heats! Lol


What classes have you raced?

I started out with my own equipment in 08 racing A Marathon, AXR, AXH, ASR, and ASH. 1 motor, 2 boats! I raced the MHRA races for a few years before selling all of my equipment. I still raced a couple times on Sundays at Constantine with a borrowed rig. I returned full time last season in 300ssh. I couldn’t stay away!


Who have you looked up to in the sport?

The Trolian’s. They have been so welcoming to me since day 1. That whole family is the epitome of boat racing to me. They showed me how the sport truly is a family friendly environment and doing anything to help a fellow racer get on the water.


Favorite race site?

You’d think it would be Constantine because that’s my home race. Nope! It’s definitely Big Rapids. I love fall racing, and it’s a couple steps from the campsite to the pits. The potluck is always so good. And the site just has a vibe to it, as if everyone is soaking in the last race of the season. I’ve only ever been to MHRA races so my options are less than everyone else.



Greatest accomplishment in racing?

Haha I don’t have many great accomplishments before last season. My 3rd place finish at Wakefield and winning a handful of heats in 2019 are all of my accomplishments by far! I’m hoping to add to the list this season.



What are some activities you enjoy outside of racing?

I’m a full-time Firefighter/Paramedic. I work a lot and enjoy every minute of it. It doesn’t feel like a job. I don’t really do much except work and home. I enjoy snowboarding but don’t get on the slopes nearly enough. I love spending time with my wife and our 2 year old, Ryan. We love to go camping but only seem to do it on race weekends lol. Family means so much to us and we spend a lot of time with both our family’s.


Best Advice?

Do what you love. And love what you do. Enjoy every minute of life. My job has definitely taught me to enjoy life, because we never know when our time is up.


182 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page