top of page

Driver Profile: Austin Duggan





What is your name and racing number used?

Austin Duggan, 78M

How did you get involved in boat racing?

My dad is an avid antique outboard collector. Over the years he had collected a number of antique racing engines. When my younger brother and I were old enough, we started playing with an old hydroplane and runabout attending AOMCI meets all over the midwest. We were playing with an old 20H at one of those AOMCI meets and Jay Walls and Steve Roskowski told us that was still a legal racing engine in the MOD division. We attended our first race in Hillsdale, Michigan as spectators and the following year started racing full time and haven't stopped.

When and where was your first race?

Huntington, Indiana in June of 2007.

What classes have you raced?

For most of my racing career I've raced modified outboards primarily the small runabout classes, 250ccMR, 350ccMR. I've also ran 250ccMH and 400ccMH. I started racing stock outboard marathons in the summer of 2007. I raced 15SSR marathon in 2007, I ran 25SSR marathon at Top O for a number of years. I've recently sold off most of my modified outboard equipment and my 25SSR marathon rig and had Mark Kurz build me a CSR.marathon boat. These days I'm racing CSR marathon only.

Who have you looked up to in the sport?

There have been a number of racers I've looked up to over the years. I definitely look up to Ed Hearn. His preparation ahead of time and consistency on the race course is awesome to watch. Watching him drive into the first turn in BSR for many years was can't miss racing action. Aside from the great driver he is on the course watching him be a great dad and watching his involvement with his girls at the races is something I respect and admire as well. I also look up to Gary Miller. The guy is a walking encyclopedia of boat racing knowledge. He knows so much about how to make a boat fast and handle well. He's helped me a lot in the sport. From a marathon perspective I look up to Tim Ross and Josh and Dustin Pearson. Those guys have had so much success at Top O over the years. Their equipment is reliable, they drive smart and their stuff is incredibly fast. I admire their grit and how hard they drive through the big lakes. It's fun to watch them race although I'd like to have them chase me for a change rather than me always following them.

Favorite race site?

Without a doubt the Top O Michigan marathon is the best race in the country. The rivers and lakes in Norther Michigan are beautiful and the atmosphere on race day is so cool. It's just something so different than any race I've been to in the country.

Greatest accomplishment in racing?

My greatest accomplishments in racing are in the 250ccMR class. I was able to win the APBA high points championship in that class for 4 years in a row. I've finished second at Top O and in short course nationals a couple of times but that elusive national championship is still something I chase.

What are some activities you enjoy outside of racing?

I'm still very interested in restoring antique outboard motors kind of following in my dad's footsteps a little bit. Family is so important to me so I love spending time with my wife and twin boys, Gavin and Carter. We enjoy playing card games, going to the beach, going for a walk in the park or just grilling out at home. Any time spent with them is a good time.

Best Advice?

Don't be afraid to ask questions. There are so many super cool and knowledgeable people in the sport that love to help beginners and veterans alike. The boat racing is unique in that everyone wants to help get people on the water or make them more competitive. I've seen competitors lend other competitors boats, motors, props, safety gear etc. In some of those cases I've seen competitors get beat by their own equipment. Aside from that just have fun and enjoy all of the great things this sport has to offer.


327 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page