top of page

Driver Profile: Dustin Pearson


What is your name?


Dustin Jared Pearson


How did you get involved in boat racing?


Through family and living in the heart of Marathon country.... Top O’. As far back as I can remember when I was a kid I can still hear exactly what the roar sounds like as each boat gets into the river at the break wall, coming in to the Indian River. I just remember hearing the roar of each engine get louder and the way the hull would smack the next wave was so distinct. I just remember thinking I’m going to do this some day. And watching my cousin Josh and Uncle Gordon compete was always something to look forward to. I think I’ve only missed Top O’ twice in my entire life, whether I was a spectator or racing.


When and where was your first race?


Top O’ Michigan Marathon Nationals- August 16, 2008. I ran my cousin Josh’s old DeSilva in the C class with the Yamato 102. I remember saying to Uncle Gordon “I just wanna be first in the river” he looked at me and said “Dustin, everyone wants to be first in the river, you just worry about finishing.” I ended up hitting a pleasure boat wave Saturday and was thrown out of the boat. I got back in and went to rope it and like a lot of rookies, sank it and was finished. Sunday was a better result, I think I ended up in the top 10 for Sunday’s race and I was pretty happy with that.


What classes have you raced?


Mainly CSR Marathon, but these last couple years I’ve taken a real liking to the 25SSR closed course class. Tried my hand in a few other kneel down classes-CSR, CSH, 300SSH, BSR and DSR. My first time in a DSR was at Grass Lake and I blew it over down the front stretch of the last lap. I’m told I prop walked it from the exit pin all the way to the finish line where I eventually ended up blowing it over, luckily the boat stayed up right and I was ok. Theres video of it some where. Also spent the 2019 year in the OPC category and ran in the SST 45 class which was very fun!


Who have you looked up to in the sport?


Lots of people but to name a few....My cousin Joshua Pearson for his ability to get in anything and put it to the kitchen with no fear and come with a win many times. My Uncle Gordon Pearson, the guy is a machine when it comes to knowing how to fix anything and 10x out of 10, it’ll be right the first time. Kim Park for the amount of knowledge and positive projection he puts out on people. That much knowledge should be illegal for one individual to have. Ed Hearn because let’s face it, it’s Ed Hearn. When you can make it into the Hall of Champions 19 times you’re doing something right. Johnny Wlodarski for being the epitome of old time racing. He shows up runs 6 or 7 classes and it’s basically just him doing all the work. He doesn’t bitch he just does what Johnny Wlodarski does and that’s race! He’s the definition of hard work.


Favorite race?


Indian River hands down for marathon. It’s my home town, I grew up there and it’s nice to go back and have your friends and family rooting you on for the W. My favorite closed course race would have to be Constantine. It’s got a really accessible lake, it’s never too cold. The Legion does a great job accommodating us and best of all the bar is literally in the pits. How could you not have a good time in Constantine! However the Fireside 500 site in Presque Isle, MI is a very very close second.


Greatest accomplishment in racing?


Winning Marathon Nationals in the C class of course. Mark Kurz and I traded places several times throughout both days. It was probably the roughest I can remember Burt lake being with 3-4 footers coming back from crooked lake. Mark was slightly ahead of me and was faster in calmer water so I knew it was beat him to the river or dump it. I beat him in to the Indian River and that’s all she wrote. I remember finishing and seeing Randy Foster, Adam Low and my cousin Josh on top of Adams trailer going absolutely wild. I’m surprised they didn’t bust through the roof.


What are some activities you enjoy outside of racing?


I do what many racers do. Get my speed fix. Whether it’s on a snowmobile or riding motorcycles. I also enjoy hunting and fishing. But like a lot of boat racers, there’s no better time than getting with other boat racing family and getting a little rowdy and obviously talk boat racing.


Best Advice?


I’ve realized the older you get, the more you reflect on your life, the worst thing you can do is not take a chance. Buy the damn boat!

“You will miss 100% of the shots you don’t take” - W. Gretzky

230 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page