top of page

Driver Profile: Scott Reed




What is your name and racing number used ?

Scott Reed 28-N


How did you get involved in boat racing?

3rd generation racer, my dad put me in a Price Craft J runabout with a 60J at 6 years old but I wasn’t strong enough to hold the throttle wide open- so I had to wait a year.


When and where was your first race?

May or June Silver Lake 1976 following National Champ Todd Nelson around for the start - he jumped the gun and I won my 1st heat and 1st race.


What classes have you raced?

JSR, JSH, ASR, BSR,BSH, 25SSR, CSR, CSH


Who have you looked up to in the sport?

Mostly my Dad - Doug Reed by far my favorite racer to watch. Racing Rich Runne and Craig Bowman. Boat building Ron Waterson, Shannon Bowman and Pop Trolian


Favorite race site?

Millville NJ


Greatest accomplishment in racing?

Watching the boats I have hand in building race well. Helping drivers by sharing what little bit I know.


What are some activities you enjoy outside of racing?

Watching my daughters grow and compete in swimming, Down Hill skiing, and college basketball


Best Advice?

Follow the leader- if you are just starting look to the front of the pack to see what those drivers are doing, get horse power good engines make a whole bunch of other stuff work and test. The drivers out front are not lucky they are working harder than you. Don’t get discouraged it takes time to learn how to drive and be a good starter - good starts will always improve your outcome.


137 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page