top of page

It’s The People.






As I drove home from the Stock Nationals, I had a solid ten hours to reflect on what the current state of boat racing is and where it could be going. At the end of the day, everyone realizes we need more participation and new members in the sport. It’s a no brainer that’s how a member driven sport can survive. What we do is unique in the sense that we hardly ever race for money, sometimes you get a trophy but when you think about it, what really brings you back every weekend?

It’s the people. I’ve been fortunate enough to meet people from all over the country and all over the world due to this great sport. Do I look forward to the 20 minutes I’ll spend on the water when I drive 12 hours to Michigan, sure I will. I love driving a race boat but what I really look forward to is seeing my friends and catching up over a few beers. I’ve had this discussion a lot with a few friends more so in the last few years, where we drive “x” amount of hours to stand in a different parking lot every weekend and tell or listen the same stories and you know what? I wouldn’t change it for anything.


Now you might be wondering where I’m going with this, and honestly I’m trying to get back to the original thought but the most important aspect of this sport isn’t the shiny boats or the fancy motorhomes. It’s the people who are standing in the water to shake your hand after a heat, the people who notice that something isn’t running right and come walking over with a wrench or a different prop to see if they can help. It’s the people who are awake when you pull into the pits at 1am and give you a big hug like you haven’t seen them in years. It’s the people who would give you the shirt of their back without ever asking for it back. We often look past this and almost take it for granted. When I talk to other friends who race, they are blown away by the generosity of boat racers and couldn’t never imagine someone in their own sport offering competition help.

Without the people in this sport, it wouldn’t be the same. Over the last few years, we’ve lost some significant people to this sport due to various causes. Again some of those people, made our sport what it is today whether they were on the course or off. A friendly face that slowly becomes a decal on the side of our boats or a memorial trophy. It’s the sudden losses that really pulls a community together. I put this out to my friends and family, as more of a reminder if not anything. Cherish the time you spend at the races. Take pictures, not of the boats but the people. Those are the meaningful shots, you’d be surprised how many smiles you’ll see in them. When someone is having health issues, urge them to go to the doctor and get checked out. No race is more important than seeing a doctor. To anyone reading this, If your struggling, call me, call anyone but don’t go through it alone. We are a huge family and we’re all in this crazy life together and I sure as hell want to spend as much time with you all as I can. Don’t wait till your next race to reach out to a friend who you haven’t seen in a while, check in. It could mean the world.

Love you all,

JWIII



921 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page