top of page

Driver Profile: Steve Noury



What is your name?

Steve Noury


How did you get involved in boat racing?

I am a 2nd generation driver. I attended my first race in 1955 at age 2 ½ with my dad at Island Falls, Maine. That was also my dad’s first race in ASH.


When and where was your first race?

The first race that I competed in was in May 1963. I ran JU at Lowell, Massachusetts and finish with a 2nd place out of five starters. Doug Bailey was the winner of that race and everything else for the 1963 and 1964 seasons. He was both the National Champion and National High Point Champion both years and a two time Gulf Marine Hall of Fame Inductee. He lived seven miles from my house! I did not win a race until 1965.


What classes have you raced?

With the exception of 35SSR & 35SSH, I have run every Stock Outboard Class. My checklist was completed in 2009 when I ran DSR in the Haverhill River Run Marathon in Haverhill, Massachusetts.


Who have you looked up to in the sport?

With over 50 years of involvement in the sport, there is certainly a lot of overlap on people I would put on a pedestal. As a kid, it would have to have been Larry Castagneto. Larry could win in BU, CU, and DSH and he did it all in boats that he built while working towards an Engineering degree in college. To this day he is the most humble person that you will ever meet. As I grew older and became aware of the administrative side of the sport and the personal effort that it takes to keep this sport flourishing, Stan Fitts and Bill Giles were in a league of their own. Anything that I have ever received credit for, is a direct result of the impact those two men had on my career. Contemporary heroes, Billy Allen would top that list. His compassion and desire to make the sport better is unparalleled.


Favorite race to attend?

They all are. I cannot think of ever saying “I am not coming back to this place again”. The Kingston Fall Classic in Kingston, New Hampshire would top my list in Region One. It is like stepping back in time. A 5/8ths mile bull ring located in the center of Town, this is a course where a driver needs to bring his “A” game. Driving ability will trump speed on this race course and you will need to be prepared for some competition as they do not run 3 or 4 boat fields.


Greatest accomplishment in racing?

After 50 years in the sport, sooner or later they have to give you something and I am most proud of the Service Awards that have come my way. To be recognized by peers is very humbling. The 2018 Honor Squadron Induction would have to rank at the top. That would be followed by the 2015 Tammy Dawe Advocate Award. We all enter the sport for the competition aspect and with that in mind; my Waldman Award in 2007 would have to rank right up there. If there was a DSH race in the Northeast or Canada that year, I was there and I was fortunate to win more than I lost! With that said, I think I can honestly say that my greatest accomplishment was to give back to the sport more than I think than I ever took.


If you could pick a final heat at the nationals, Who would be the best 12 drivers in this heat?

Let’s go with the BU class in celebration of this year’s Lock Haven extravaganza. To be one of the best 12 in this Dream Nationals final, I believe a driver should have made their mark by winning a BU / BSR National Championship. So, the first seven entries are: Stover Hire, Ron Hedlund, Larry Castagneto, Tom Nuccio, Clark Maloof, Vic Brinkman and Fred Miller. I will add Bobby Austin to the Feature Final as he did win three BSR Nationals with the Hot Rod. What would be the finals be without a Dewald, Butch or David, you decide. The next two drivers are provisional starters. I have to consider their accomplishments in 15SSR class, which for all intents and purposes became the closest thing to BU, Ed Hearn and Cooper Jess, get the nod. That leaves one spot open and that could be the people’s choice, everyone has a hometown favorite and that way your guy can make the field if we had left them off of the list.


What are some activities you enjoy outside of racing?

There are activities outside of racing?


Best Advice you have to give?

Sportsmanship. Remember, it is only a game. The friendships that you make you will cherish forever. The drivers in that five boat JU field in 1963, I am still close friends with all of them 57 years later.



265 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page